April 15, 2021, 7:50

James Wade defeats Phil Taylor at Grand Slam of Darts

James Wade defeats Phil Taylor at Grand Slam of Darts

James Wade kept his Grand Slam of Darts hopes alive against Phil Taylor on Tuesday night.

Wade faced elimination unless he won, but beat Taylor 5-3 enabling both veterans to advance beyond the group stage.

Last year’s runner-up Wade broke his rival twice to persevere in a gritty game, following six-time champion Taylor into the knock-out stages.

Taylor will next face Darren Webster who won a nine-dart shoot-out to persevere over Mark Webster, when they couldn’t be separated by the group standings.

Watch this nine dart shoot-out between Darren Webster and Mark Webster

Darren Webster is ready to face Phil Taylor in the next round

Rob Cross‘ 5-2 win against Ross Montgomery earned him qualification alongside Michael van Gerwen who was in cruise control throughout a 5-2 beating of Joe Murnan.

Raymond van Barneveld easily beat Steve Lennon 5-2 when both players were guaranteed qualification due to Gerwyn Price’s 5-1 loss against Jamie Hughes.

Watch a darts fan take a tumble while trying to give Raymond van Barneveld a high five

Mark Webster 2-5 Danny Noppert
Daryl Gurney 5-1 Darren Webster
Michael van Gerwen 5-2 Joe Murnan
Ross Cross 5-2 Ross Montgomery
Robbie Green 3-5 Peter Machin
Phil Taylor 3-5 James Wade
Gerwyn Price 1-5 Jamie Hughes
Raymond van Barneveld 5-2 Steve Lennon

The Grand Slam of Darts continues on Sky Sports throughout the week with coverage underway on Monday on Sky Sports Action from 7pm as the best of the PDC compete against the best of the BDO

Keep up to date with the news as the tungsten enters its busiest time of year with the PDC World Championships just around the corner get all the latest at www.skysports.com/darts and join in the conversation @SkySportsDarts.

Source: skysports.com

Related posts