Jamie George and Sam Simmonds start for England v Samoa

Jamie George and Sam Simmonds start for England v Samoa

Jamie George and Sam Simmonds will make their first England starts in Saturday’s Test against Samoa at Twickenham, live on Sky Sports Action from 2.30pm.

George, who started all three Tests for the British and Irish Lions last summer, wears the No 2 shirt as Dylan Hartley drops out of the starting line-up for the first time since Eddie Jones became head coach.

Jones makes nine changes to the team that defeated Australia, Exeter Chief Simmonds replacing the injured Nathan Hughes at No 8 with Chris Robshaw switching to openside flanker and Maro Itoje at blindside.

England were 30-6 victors over Australia at Twickenham last Saturday

Robshaw and fly-half George Ford are named as co-captains with Alex Lozowski replacing Saracens team-mate Owen Farrell at inside centre.

Henry Slade partners Lozowski in the midfield with Mike Brown named at full-back after recovering from injury, while scrum-half Danny Care gets his first start of the autumn.

England vs Samoa

November 25, 2017, 2:30pm

Live on

Get Sky Sports Get a Sky Sports pass

Mako Vunipola drops to the bench as Ellis Genge gets the nod at loosehead prop, with Bath lock Charlie Ewels partnering Joe Launchbury in the second row.

“This is an exciting squad to play against Samoa and we are expecting them to be immensely physical and committed this weekend,” said Jones.

“We want to follow up last week’s performance against Australia and play better again this week. Our intent in every game and every training session is to be better.

“This week it is an opportunity for some squad members who haven’t been playing to put their best foot forward.

“We will have to play smart and will need to find ways to win the contest against Samoa.”

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Jonny May, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Alex Lozowski, 11 Elliot Daly, 10 George Ford (co-capt), 9 Danny Care; 1 Ellis Genge, 2 Jamie George, 3 Dan Cole, 4 Joe Launchbury, 5 Charlie Ewels, 6 Maro Itoje, 7 Chris Robshaw (co-capt), 8 Sam Simmonds.

Replacements: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Nick Isiekwe, 20 Courtney Lawes, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Piers Francis, 23 Semesa Rokoduguni.

Source: skysports.com

Related posts