September 18, 2021, 16:16

Martin O’Neill includes James McCarthy in Ireland’s World Cup play-off squad

Martin O’Neill includes James McCarthy in Ireland’s World Cup play-off squad

James McCarthy has been named in a 34-man Republic of Ireland squad for next month’s World Cup play-offs against Denmark.

The Everton midfielder made his return from a lengthy injury lay off in last night’s League Cup defeat to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

Matt Doherty of Wolves, Alan Browne, Jonny Hayes and Reading’s Paul McShane are included, but Jon Walters misses out with a knee complaint.

Goalkeeper Keiren Westwood returns following an injury to his ribs, but midfielder David Meyler is suspended for the first leg.

Ireland are away in the first leg in Parken Stadium, Copenhagen on Saturday, November 11 before hosting the second leg game at the Aviva on Tuesday, November 14.

Republic of Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Colin Doyle (Bradford City)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Paul McShane (Reading), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Daryl Horgan, Alan Browne (Preston North End), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), James McCarthy (Everton), Robbie Brady, Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), David Meyler (Hull City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Jonny Hayes (Celtic), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall)


Related posts