September 20, 2021, 19:26

WGC-HSBC Champions:  Ian Poulter, Russell Knox among former winners

WGC-HSBC Champions: Ian Poulter, Russell Knox among former winners

From play-off drama to career-changing victories, we take a look back at the best moments in WGC-HSBC Champions history.

The tournament attracts a star-studded field and offers a total prize fund of $9.5m, with world No 1 Dustin Johnson among the field at Sheshan International Golf Club this week.

Phil Mickelson is the only two-time winner of the event, having beaten Ross Fisher and Lee Westwood in a play-off in 2007 before claiming a one-shot victory over Ernie Els in 2009.

Live World Golf Championship

October 27, 2017, 6:00am

Live on

Get Sky Sports Get a Sky Sports pass

Hideki Matsuyama heads to China as defending champion after cruising to victory last year, with Sergio Garcia and Martin Kaymer also among the tournament’s impressive roll of honour.

Ahead of this week’s event, live on Sky Sports, we go through the archives to remember some of the highlights from recent years…

2016 – Hideki Matsuyama

Matsuyama dominated the weekend to ease to the biggest victory in the tournament’s history and become the first Japanese player to win a World Golf Championship title.

Rounds of 66 and 65 saw Matsuyama open up a three-shot lead at the halfway stage, with a bogey-free 68 seeing him maintain that advantage heading into the final round.

Three birdies over the first seven holes on Sunday pulled Matsuyama clear of the chasing pack, with a hat-trick gains from the 13th completing a blemish-free 65 and seven-shot victory.

2015 – Russell Knox

The Scot took advantage of the last-minute withdrawal of JB Holmes to enter the event as seventh reserve and claim a shock victory in Shanghai.

After arriving late in China, Knox posted rounds of 67 and 65 to get within two strokes of the lead before closing the gap further in a weather-affected third round.

Knox decided against playing the 18th in fading light and returned on his own on Sunday morning to birdie the hole and claim a share of the lead, with back-to-back 68s securing a two-stroke win.

2014 – Bubba Watson

The two-time major champion followed on from his Masters victory earlier in the year to snatch a dramatic victory over Tim Clark in a sudden death play-off.

Watson was two strokes clear with three holes to play but lost his advantage with a bogey at the 16th and a double-bogey at the next.

Live World Golf Championship

October 28, 2017, 4:00am

Live on

Get Sky Sports Get a Sky Sports pass

The left-hander the holed an amazing bunker shot to eagle the last and join Clark on 11 under, before draining a 20-foot putt at the first extra hole.

2013 – Dustin Johnson

Johnson broke the tournament scoring record on his way to a three-shot victory and the first of five World Golf Championship titles.

The future world No 1 was four back after the opening day but surged up the leaderboard with five birdies in the first six holes of his second-round 63.

Johnson added a six-under 66 on Saturday and was all-square with Ian Poulter with nine holes to play on Sunday, only to complete victory with three birdies and an eagle over the back nine.

2012 – Ian Poulter

Just weeks after helping Europe secure Ryder Cup victory in the Miracle of Medinah, Poulter secured his most recent worldwide title with a two-shot win at Mission Hills.

The Englishman was four strokes back heading into the final round, only to birdie six of his first 10 holes and add further gains over the 14th and 15th.

Poulter posted penultimate-hole bogey but manage a up-and-down from the sand at the last to close a second successive 65 and stay ahead of a four-way tie for second.

Watch the WGC-HSBC Champions throughout the week live on Sky Sports Golf. Live coverage begins on Thursday from 3am.


Related posts